316 km to travel among the enchanting Tuscan landscapes. Two days of exciting racing, to relive the history of vintage motoring

There is very little left until the second round of the 2024 Italian Major Events Championship by ACI Storico. After the debut race of the 2024 season with the Historical Reenactment of Milano San Remo from 14 to 17 March, it will be the turn of the Mugello Road Circuit, scheduled for 12 to 14 April.

An event of great importance considering the parterre of competitors who do not want to miss the Tuscan event which, as per the regulations, provides for a coefficient of 1.5, very useful for the crews who want to make the lead in the championship in their respective categories. 

Returning to the participants, there will be Mario Passanante and Alessandro Molgora, the reigning CIGE champion crew on a Fiat 508 C, the Sicilians Francesco and Giuseppe Di Pietra, father and son on a 1938 Fiat 508 C – CIGE champions in 2018 and 2022 – Giovanni Moceri , two-time Grandi Eventi champion, in 2017 and 2019, which will be navigated by Valeria Dicembre on a 1941 Lancia Ardea, the winners of the 2022 Mugello Road Circuit Alberto Aliverti and Stefano Valente, Alberto Diana and Annalisa Bellante on a Lancia Lambda V series who currently lead the Media Test Trophy ranking ahead of Mario Passanante and Carlo Beccalossi.

Other contenders for victory will also be present, long-time regular drivers who compete with cars with a coefficient that could allow them an exploit. All eyes therefore on Federico Riboldi navigated by Alberto Riboldi on a Fiat Balilla 508C of FM Motori, Sergio Sisti navigated by Anna Gualandi on a Lancia Lambda Spider Casaro of the Classic Team, Roberto Crugnola navigated by Annalisa Mentasti on a Fiat 508C, Massimo Zanasi navigated by Corrado Corneliani again on Fiat 508C, Gianmario Fontanella navigated Annamaria Covelli on Lancia Lambda Casaro of Scuderia Promotor Classic.

Among the new features of the 2024 calendar is the establishment of a “Gentleman Trophy”, reserved for drivers not present in the priority list at the beginning of the season or who have been present in the five previous seasons.

The 2024 Mugello Road Circuit also includes the challenge between the teams. The crews of the reigning champion team – the Classic Team – will have to defend themselves from Promotor Classic and Scuderia Franciacorta Motori who will field their top standard-bearers at the 2024 Mugello Road Circuit.

For the Scuderia Promotor Classic at the start of the race, in addition to the aforementioned Gianmario Fontanella-Anna Maria Covelli on Lancia Lambda Casaro and Alberto Diana-Annalisa Bellante on Lancia Lambda V Serie, Maurizio Chiarini and Roberto Vancini on Austin Healey 100/4 BN2 and Giovanni Pighi and Anita Colla on Morris Mini Cooper S

The fleet of cars competing is therefore first-rate: the 2024 edition includes prestigious models such as five Lancia Lambdas (1925, 1927, two from 1928 and 1929) of which three with CASARO bodies, a Bugatti 37 from 1929, an Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 SS from 1929, a BMW 328 from 1939 and a FIAT 514 Sport from 1930.

The program of the Mugello Road Circuit includes – Friday 12 April 2024 – the arrival of the participants and the usual sporting and technical checks of the crews and cars in the race. The headquarters, also for this edition, will be on the Lungarno in Florence (Grand Hotel Mediterraneo).

During the first stage, scheduled for Saturday 13 April, the competition will start from Piazzale Michelangelo, in the historic center of Florence and will wind through the suggestive Chianti hills. The route will pass through the towns of San Polo in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti, Radda in Chianti, and then go as far as Monteriggioni, where the crews will stop for lunch. In the afternoon the route will touch Castellina in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, and then end in Strada in Chianti allowing the crews to return freely to Florence.

Along the route of the second stage – Sunday 14 April – the crews will be called to compete on the historic route of the Mugello road Grand Prix, passing through San Piero a Sieve, Scarperia, Passo del Giogo, Firenzuola, Passo della Futa and Barberino di Mugello, to end at the Mugello Circuit with the awards ceremony.